I’ve mentioned that Beth makes me watch dramas, right?  She had me watch The Good, The Bad and The Ugly a few years ago.  Damn good movie.  Wow, Clint Eastwood is hot.

The Good

  • I love music.  It is one of the most important things in my life (probably right after reading and above breathing (hey, breathing is important but if I couldn’t read, I probably wouldn’t care if I could breathe either). 
  • Keem and I were listening to the radio this morning and “Juke Box Hero” came on.  I was instantly transported back into time to a hay ride.  I am not sure how old I was but I remember I was in junior high?  It is amazing how a song can bring back a simple memory like that and nothing really important happened.
  • Tom Petty’s “Last Dance for Mary Jane” came on after that and Keem suddenly said “I worked at Kwik Trip almost 20 years ago.”  Say what?  That’s what her memory triggered, working in the deli when she first heard the song.
  • Speaking of Tom Petty (and gosh, how I love him), if you are looking to have weird dreams, watch the DVD of videos Beth has before going to bed.  The videos are very cool but also quite strange and you will dream of aliens.  I think there were aliens.  Beth might remember better than I (and isn’t that pathetic, having to rely on your friends to remember a dream you had awhile ago.  God, I’m old).
  • I finished my laundry.  Woo-hoo (although if your roommate tells you should be able to consolidate 4 washer loads into two dryer loads, find out what setting you should put it on.  Minnesota in winter is not a good place to go running around with damp pants).  I also found some shirts I haven’t worn in awhile because I tossed them into the corner to wash later (about a year and a half ago) and am today wearing the fish shirt!  I love the fish shirt (It’s blue with white fish stencilled on it).
  • Still cold but hey, it’s above zero!  And my bones don’t ache this morning.  That’s a plus!
  • I love that my last post was whining and both Sheryl and Patti focused on the positive.  That rocks.

The Bad

  • I have lived in Minnesota for 40 of my 41 years (the other year was in Wisconsin).  You would think I would know better.  What happens to a 12 pack of Tab if you leave it in the trunk of your roommate’s car all weekend?
  • That’s right!  It explodes!  Yay!
  • Although, I did only lose 2 out of 12 cans so that’s okay.  And bonus, frozen Tab is easy to clean up and also tastes kind of yummy.  Perhaps I will make Tab popsicles.
  • ARGH!  Exploding can of pop!  Where are the paper towels!  ARGH!
  • Make that 3 cans.  The one that expanded as far as it possibly could without bursting did not respond well to being opened.  Sigh.
  • Kalli is still just as vocal, if not more.  She will not shut up.  But she’s cute so we’re keeping her.  For now. 
  • Also, she is the most anal retentive cat I have ever met.  She has taken to expressing displeasure with her litter box by peeing in bags and boxes.  So far they have all been empty but we need to nip this in the bud.  We are thinking about teaching her how to use the toilet since she’s already managed to flush it once.
  • She is going to need to be spayed soon.  I am not looking forward to that expense.

The Random

  • Every Sunday (or Monday, depending on what I am doing), I look forward to reading Post Secret.  Yesterday there was a post card from someone who said they would rather die prematurely than wear their CPAP mask.  This confused me, I don’t see any logic in this (I know.  Me searching for logic.  Amazing).  The CPAP isn’t the most exciting thing in the world but it helps me breathe.  And breathing is good.  But then I thought, hmm, Dana, you know, you’re kind of doing the same thing by not using the insulin Deb suggested.  So, starting tomorrow, I’m going to start jabbing myself even more instead of taking metformin.  Hopefully this will work well and you won’t find me shivering in the bathroom, glaring at the needle.  I would like to think that my fear of needles is more logical than not wanting to wear a CPAP mask but have decided it is not. 
  • I was playing on Pogo this weekend and some random guy asked me to chat with him.  Okay.  Why not?  Checked his profile, he is married with five kids.  Probably safe, don’t have to worry about attempted flirting or anything.
  • We somehow got on the subject of laundry and I said someday I would hire someone to do my laundry for me.  It is my least favorite chore (although I do enjoy cleaning the lint trap).  His response?  Hire a naked guy.
  • Why would I want a naked guy doing my laundry?  First of all, I live in an apartment building and that wouldn’t go over well with the other tenants.  Also, I hate laundry.  Why would I watch someone do it, naked or not?
  • One of my co-workers responded to an email with “Thanks, Dana, you rock.  No, I mean you HOP!”  It took me forever to get this and I kept wondering “Am I a bunny?  Am I going to a sock hop?  Why would I think sock hop?  Does anyone go to sock hops anymore?”
  • Finally I asked what she meant by this and she responded “Because you like frogs.”  I think you could have heard my “OHHHHH” about a mile away.  Sometimes I am awfully slow.

This amused me.  Perhaps it falls under Random.  But it made me think of the dating scene and how glad I’m not a part of it.  Random Pogo guy asked me about sex and I said I gave it up for Lent 9 years ago (moral of this story, married men with 5 children are not safe.  Typically if you chat with someone, the subject always turns to sex.  You’d think I’d learn this by now).  Anyway, one of the blogs I recently started reading (Hi, Liz!) has included some incredibly amusing stories about online dating and I thought of her when I saw this.

funny-pictures-cat-has-doubts-about-online-dating

