*People that say see you next year kind of annoy me. So I started saying see you next decade to be even more annoying. It’s my job.

You may not know this but your co-workers will be more accepting of your stories of “things I did years ago when I was drunk or stoned because I was an idiot” than they are of you admitting that you really love the song “Burn Down the Trailer Park” by Billy Ray Cyrus. I believe Christy’s reaction to the Billy Ray Cyrus thing was “Dana. No, you do not.”

Now, for other stuff:

Every year I like to look back at the previous year and see what has happened. It reminds me of a lot of things – I’m getting old. My life is really boring. I have awesome friends.
1. What did you do in 2009 that you’d never done before?

Turned 42 and finally became the meaning of life.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t know if I made one. If I did, it was probably to lose weight (didn’t happen), monitor my blood sugar better (hahahahaha) or not kill anyone. Hey, one out of three’s pretty decent, right? And not being in jail is a good thing!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth or adopt?

No.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Two of the greatest cats known to mankind. Sebastian, my sister’s cat and Mac, my former cat who was adopted by Beth’s mom and lived the life of Riley. Who is Riley and why is his life so awesome? I wonder these things.

5. What countries did you visit?

I did not visit countries but I did go to South Dakota which was very fun!

6. What would you like to have in 2010 that you lacked in 2009?

Money is always welcome. I would also like a boyfriend but, since I don’t really like people that much (or shaving my legs), I’d appreciate it if someone could work on inventing an android for me. Like Data or, preferably, Lore because I like my men a little bit evil.

7. What dates from 2009 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

Um. Wow. I have no clue. March 11, 2009? I turned 42? Memory is not that awesome, sorry.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Climbing to the bottom of a cave, many, many feet under ground and not dying. Then getting myself out of the cave without dying. Hey, Beth is a cave junkie and I will do things to make my friends happy.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I don’t have failures. I am too awesome. If you want to get technical, yet again I did not lose the weight I keep telling myself I’m going to lose.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I was in a car accident. It was not awesome. My back and neck were pretty much screwed up for awhile.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Oh, I’m going to stick with books again. I love books.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Beth and Keem. My nephew who is awesome.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

I was going to say no one but I forgot about my new reality TV show where I go around and tell reality “stars” how much they annoy me. I will make millions.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Books. Scrapbooking stuff. The occasional piece of clothing

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

South Dakota, baby! Seeing Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse again.

16. What song will always remind you of 2009?

Uh. I never know what to say. I don’t really associate music with years. I’m just crazy that way.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) happier or sadder?

happier

b) thinner or fatter?

Fatter

c) richer or poorer?

poorer

I’m adding d

d) awesome or awesomer?

awesomer!

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Scrapbooking. Actually planning pages but in my defense, I tried and I really suck at it.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

The ear infection from hell is on my list here. I could have used less of that and also, I think it’s coming back.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

I went to LaCrosse and spent it with Keem’s family. It was fun!

21. Did you fall in love in 2009?

No.

22. How many one-night stands?

Ha. Ha, ha, ha. Yeah, I haven’t had sex in over a decade. I’m certainly not going to waste my time on a one night stand.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

The Big Bang Theory, Psych and Burn Notice – Bruce Campbell is hot. So are nerds.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

I would say Norm Coleman but I don’t really care about him now that he’s not in office. Absence makes the heart hate less in his case.

25. What was the best book you read?

I cannot just pick one book. It’s impossible. I did really enjoy the Jennifer Scales series though.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

I don’t know that I have one. I really like music too much to pick one song.

27. What did you want and get?

I bought a hat! That actually looks good on me. That’s a small miracle right there. Plus, it is pink and grey!

28. What did you want and not get?

World peace, a semi-evil android boyfriend, my Queen of the Universe powers

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

Star Trek! Inglorious Basterds was a very close second.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Went to Fogo de Chao (yummy!) and the opera! We go to the opera every year but Fogo was a new twist to our routine.  I turned 42.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

I have an awesome bunch of friends so I can’t say that anything would have. I managed to take my pills during most of the year so I was pretty happy most of the time.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2009?

This doesn’t change. I do not have a fashion concept. Although I do believe I had pink hair this year.

33. What kept you sane?

Beth. Keem. Effexor. Blogging and reading blogs. This doesn’t change.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Chris Peck. Zachary Quinto. Karl Urban. The really cute guy that played Chekov. Why, yes, this is all Star Trek related. I even think JJ Abrams is kind of cute.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?

I’m not allowed to talk about politics at work anymore. I have a Republican sitting next to me. We’ve established we can discuss fashion, food, working out and what we think should be done to child molesters (castration and/or death).

36. Who did you miss?

My grandmother, always.

37. Who was the best new person you met?

I’m so not good at people. Although there are three new guys at work that both love comic books so I have new people to talk to about them instead of babbling at Rykken all the time.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2009:

Oh, gosh, um, pineapple has anti-inflammatory properties?

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

When it rains, I don’t mind being lonely
I cry right along with the sky
When it rains, I don’t pretend to be happy
I don’t even have to try
When it rains, some people get down to sportin’ a frown
So I fit right in
Yeah the sun may brighten your day but if I had my way I’d take the rain

Eli Black Band – When It Rains. I think it’s better to say this didn’t fit my year and that makes me happy (plus, seriously catchy song)

Best picture of the year?

This one. A picture of me that I don’t hate. That’s very rare.

